top of page

Your journey to emotional health starts here. Are you living a life of pretense?

Living in pretense or denial will not make your emotional pain go away: rather, you will only make it worse, because when you refuse to confront something, you can never have a chance to overcome it. To be free, you must be willing to walk through the door of pain once again in order to face your fears. You must be able to accept who you are and where you are in life before real inner healing can take place.

A great part of my life was spent in pretense and denial. On the inside, I was confused about who I was, and I did not know my worth or value as a child of God. I made it part of my life’s mission to find the worst in me; I wrongly believed that to see anything good within me was the sin of pride. I struggled with self-hatred, lack of self-acceptance, low self-esteem, feelings of inferiority, guilt, shame, and fear—especially the fear of people and, in particular, their rejection of me.

The sad reality is this: At one time in my life, I did not like the person looking back at me in the mirror. I had come to regard myself as damaged goods. Because of this, my life lacked purpose, meaning, and true contentment. I now know that the way I treated myself had a lot to do with my painful childhood experiences and the harsh words spoken to me over my life, all of which I had internalized.

My way of dealing with this inner pain was to live a life of pretense in an attempt to escape my painful reality. I carried an outer appearance of strength and confidence, but it was a front to hide the inner struggles I faced each day. I also put up invisible walls that kept others away from me because I thought if no one could get to me, then they wouldn’t be able to hurt me again. This also allowed me to continue to hide my emotional pain.

Just like me, many people today live lives of pretense and denial in order to avoid dealing with the reality of their emotional pain....

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

Connect with me
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Black Google+ Icon
  • Facebook Basic Black
bottom of page